Community Advisory Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Formed in the fall of 2005, the Community Advisory Board (CAB) was designed to provide the Police Chief face to face dialogue with representatives from the community. Initially, the panel was comprised of 12 members but four additional positions have been added to increase and diversify the representation. 

Selection and Service

The CAB is an advisory panel of 16 positions representing a cross-section of the community based on race, religion, representation (e.g., business community, UCD students), and other factors. Members are selected by the groups they represent (whenever possible) and are approved by and serve at the will of the Police Chief and the City Manager. Since CAB is an advisory panel, it has no review or investigative power over complaint investigations

Representatives do not serve a specific term; however, some representatives have a natural term limit by the nature of their selection from the group they represent. While there is value in turnover and fresh ideas, there is also value in the consistency of having people on the board with historical knowledge and perspective. Ideally, members will develop a relationship with the Police Department built on understanding and trust that they can communicate to their constituents. As the needs of the community and the police department change, the make-up of the CAB is expected to change.

General Purpose

The CAB meets with the Police Chief on a monthly basis to provide input to the Chief regarding constituent concerns. Additionally, CAB members take information away from the police department back into the community. This Board has a broad public representation and input into the police department. Most importantly, CAB opens and sustains on-going dialogue with key members of the community on issues of mutual concern. It serves to enhance police/community dialogue and facilitate transparency of police policy, procedure and operations.

Board Members

Business Community

  • Janis Lott: Davis Downtown!
  • Jane Millett: Chamber of Commerce
  • Stewart Savage: Davis Downtown!

Educational Community

  • Laura Juanitas: Davis School District, Director of Student Support Services
  • Star Bacon: UC Davis Student Representative
  • Ralph Washington Jr.: UC Davis Student Representative

Faith Community

  • Scott Wieking: Christian Community
  • Hamza El-Nakhal: Islamic Affairs
  • Jennifer Creinin: Jewish Community


  • Carla Pion: Beat 1, Community Leader
  • Bob Eernisse: Beat 2, Community Leader
  • Diane McGee: Beat 3, Community Leader
  • Vacant: Beat 4, Community Leader

Special Interest Representatives

  • Shelly Bailes: Yolo County Chapter of Marriage Equality (MEUSA), Lesbian/Gay Community
  • Skip Harrison: African American Community
  • Tamiko Gaines: African American Community
  • Carlos Matos: Concilio of Yolo County, Latino Community
  • Sean Shimada: Asian Community
  • John Pamperin: Human Relations Commission